The Château of the Bishops of Cavaillon in Fontaine-de-Vaucluse

Bearing witness to the rich history of Fontaine-de-Vaucluse, the ruins of the Château of the Bishops of Cavaillon are visible from the Place de la Colonne.

Overlooking Fontaine-de-Vaucluse, this château belonged to the bishops of Cavaillon and dates back to the early 13th century. Today, only ruins remain. Perched atop the huge craggy rock surrounding the resurgence of the Sorgue, the ruins create the most romantic of scenarios.

Built around 1030, most likely at the same time as the church, the château is mentioned in a donation document dated 1034; however, the ruins probably date from the early 13th century. This is the château where Francesco Petrarch came to visit his friend, Philippe de Cabassole, Bishop of Cavaillon.

 

Opening periods

Picture gallery

Château des Évêques
Route de Cavaillon
84800 Fontaine-de-Vaucluse
Call us Directions

Dernière mise à jour 17/06/2024


Ticketing Brochure Map