The Ramparts of Avignon

The Avignon Walls, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, are around the old town. 4.3 km long, they were built in 1355 under the pontificate of Innocent VI.

The 4.3 km long walls designed to repel the attackers also helped (and still allow) to protect the inhabitants from the floods of the Rhone. Classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the ramparts gird the old town and give it, even today, this privileged and timeless atmosphere.


Began in 1355 under the pontificate of Innocent VI and completed in 1370 with Urbain V, their exploration is possible by the entrance of the Pont d'Avignon to go up to the garden of the Rock of the Doms and discover the Rhone: a magical view of the City of the Popes.

Opening periods

Picture gallery

Les Remparts d'Avignon
84000 Avignon
Call us Visit our website


Ticketing Brochure Map